Date a Girl Who Runs

You know it’s been a long week when you mistake your shampoo for conditioner twice in a row…rinse and repeat right? Happy Friday y’all!!

My friend sent me the link to this article and I’m pretty sure I saw in over in the SweatPink community as well. Date a Girl Who Runs. It’s such a cute post and I run, so of course I think it’s amazing and you should all read it.

It got me to thinking though about all the Other reasons us running chicas are so very dateable. So for your reading pleasure, I’ve compiled my own list of why you (meaning all you single men out there) should date a girl who runs. Because let’s face it, my Padre needs to marry me off so I’m some other gentleman’s problem and my Mother is tired of hearing about my pajama and Netflix filled weekends. Be kind and give my parents something to live for!!….(j/k they love me I swear!)

Reasons to Date a Girl Who Runs

 

Date a girl who runs because she is rockin a serious pair of gams. Legs for days, this girl can rock a pair of booty shorts like no ones business. You prefer tights? Don’t worry we have plenty of those too. Did I mention baby got back? (from all those hill sprints of course!)

Date a girl who runs because she knows the value of showers and good hygiene. Getting sweaty all the time warrants plenty of sweet smelling body wash and perfumes for hours of nose-sniffin pleasure. You’re welcome nose.

Date a girl who runs because whether your game be football, nascar, or competitive dart-throwing, we know competitiveness and can get into the emotion of the game with the best of em. Game night? Be prepared to lose sucka! (unless you ego is easily bruised in which case, Grow Up!)

Date a girl who runs because she knows some great music, podcasts, and audiobooks. 16 mile run? Why yes I do have an extensive playlist to power me through the entire thing., would you care to listen in?

Date a girl who runs because the only bib she’s thinking about is the one that gets her into a race. This girl ain’t baby hungry so rest easy Mr. Im-not-ready-for-a-baby. Kids on your wish-list you say? Well we just so happen to be really good at preparing for big life events.

IMG_3245

Date a girl who runs because she knows how to stretch a dollar. 60 bucks for a race? No problem, I’ll cut out whatever I have to in order to make it fit the budget. You want a new $60 video game? Same principles apply (though real talk, the race is a much better idea).

Date a girl who runs because thirsty? She most likely has water on her or knows the nearest source. Solid food more your style? Boy meet powerbar, mixed nuts, dried fruit, yogurt, string cheese, goo packet, or peanut butter protein balls….yes I just said balls…

Date a girl who runs because she knows the importance of praise and positive feedback. Why do you think we run all those training miles if not to get a medal at the end of it all. We’ll praise you for every little thing you do, unless it falls under “boyfriend-duties” then heaven help you if you forget…(mostly kidding).

Date a girl who runs because she loves food. Marathons don’t fuel themselves, so foodie is her middle name. And not just any food, oh no…..I’m talking fill your belly with warm and delicious goodness, Man-pleasing food. She also knows which restaurants in town carry the best ___insert favorite food here____, so whether you stay in or go out, you’ll be eating good on date night.

mexican nachos burrito bowl

 

Date a girl who runs because we’re super supportive. We’re used to cheering on anyone and everyone we meet who runs, so no matter what your goals or dreams, we’ll be right there being your biggest fan the whole way.

Date a girl who runs because let’s face it, we’re the  best bunch of happy-crazy people you’ll ever meet. We basically run the world…pun intended.

So if you’re not already, go find yourself a runner to date. And men, if you happen to live in my area….wink, wink 😉

“You know you’re a runner if you find “you know you’re a runner” jokes are funny.”

 
Sig
 

Let’s Connect!

facebooktwitterinstagram   pinterest bloglovin

I’m linking up with some wonderful ladies (and runners) Lauren, ClareJill, Mar, and Whitney

43 thoughts on “Date a Girl Who Runs

  1. I not only dated a girl who runs I married her. It’s great to have someone who can relate to getting up early or going for training runs after work. Someone who is cool with going for a run in Central Park as a date. We are so much the running couple that I proposed to her after pacing her for 12 miles in the New York City marathon and proposed after the race.

    Data girl runs…I’m all for it.

    • Oh yes I should add not only to date these amazing women but also put a ring on it lol. I’m so glad y’all get out a run together that’d be my Prince Charming!! Also adorable way to propose, you’re awesome!

  2. Pingback: So Long January! | California Endless Summer

  3. Holy moly, I love love live everything about this post and whole heartledly concur!
    I love your point about how happy almost all runners are. That’s a pretty rare thing!
    Ok maybe I majorly fail on the music side but everything else is amazing 🙂

  4. I’m sure my now-husband thought all those things when he started dating me almost 18 years ago (especially the booty thing, he’s told me frequently who much he loved the shorts I was wearing the day we met). We met at a race, got married at the same race 3 years later, and in a few months will run another marathon together. Yes, good reasons to date a girl who runs.

    • Oh my goodness, if I could only be so lucky as to meet a handsome dude at a race, my life dreams would literally come true! What a sweet story! Now I’m gonna be on the look-out 😉

  5. Great post! I have never seen your site before, but I think I will make a regular appearance! I love this list, they are all so applicable! I love the one about food….especially when going for pancakes after my 17 mile long runs when the waitress says “we also do a short stack”, to which I reply “No, I will get the full stack”!. I love her face as she comes to collect the plates and mine is clear every time! Yes, I did eat that entire plate!

    Looking forward to reading many more posts 🙂

    • Well I’m so happy that you’re here! Haha that waitress had no idea who she was dealing with, I love that story haha I’ve been known to (almost) out eat some guys after a really long run, maybe one day I can be as cool as you 😉

  6. Pingback: Overwhelmed | The Blonder Side of Life

  7. Wait I absolutely love this post. From the “baby got back” to the importance of showers to the she loves food to the we are crazy happy people. This is an amazing post! I think you may have inspired me to do a “Why you should date a vegan” or “Why you should date a yogi” orrrr both. If I do, I will for sure cite you as inspiration. Killer blog girl, I will definitely be back to read more!! Xo

  8. Pingback: Rubber Meets the Road | Kelsie Lou's Blog

  9. Pingback: Why You Should Date a Girl Who Practices Yoga | The Blonde Vegan

  10. Pingback: Monday Marvelous | The Blonder Side of Life

  11. Pingback: The Awkwardness That is Me at The Gym | The Blonder Side of Life

  12. Pingback: Recipe For a Great Weekend | The Blonder Side of Life

  13. Pingback: The Blonder Side Of Life | Rebecca Chapman

  14. Pingback: The Blonder Side Of Life |

  15. Pingback: That Time Someone Asked Me For Directions | The Blonder Side of Life

  16. Pingback: Confessions of an Online Writer | The Blonder Side of Life

So what'd ya think?....